Passing It On

High School - Seniors with a minimum 2.5 grade point average who will be attending college this year may apply to the HRBMP High School Journalism/Media Scholarship. Please download the application, attached here, for further details:

College - Undergraduate and rising graduate students pursuing journalism or other media-related studies may apply to the HRBMP Scholarship. Applicants must have a minimum 3.0 GPA in their major, and a 2.5 GPA overall. Applicants should be attending college in Hampton Roads and/or in the viewing/circulation area of Hampton Roads TV news broadcasts and Hampton Roads-area newspapers. Students from Hampton Roads attending colleges anywhere in Virginia and previous HRBMP scholarship winners are also eligible to apply.  Please download the application, attached here, for further details:

The Hampton Roads Black Media Professionals' scholarship season has begun. As in previous years, we will be awarding from $500 to $1,000 to rising and current college students pursuing journalism or other media-related careers.


The Sinclair Broadcast Diversity Scholarship provides  financial support to college students interested in broadcasting, journalism, and marketing. The Fund plans to award up to 10 scholarships of up to $5,000 each per year for the next ten years to students from under- represented minority groups who need  financial assistance to complete their education.

For more information and to apply online please click here or download the pdf application here.

Last year, the Hampton Roads Black Media Professionals awarded $4,500 in scholarships. If you're eligible, please apply, or if you know of a student who is eligible, please send him or her a link to our scholarship page and encourage them to apply.

2015 HRBMP Scholarship Winners

The 2015 college winners are:

• Tykhari Coles of Norfolk State University

• Kalynne Wilson of Regent University

• Alexis Platt of Virginia Wesleyan College

• Arriana McLymore of Hampton University

• Ashanté Travis of Hampton University. Travis was awarded $1,000, while the others received $500 each.


The 2015 high school winners:

• Alexis Whitted of Grassfield High School in Chesapeake

• Morgan Golden of Hampton High School

Past Winners

The 2014 scholarship winners are:


• Adriane Fraser, University of Charleston — Media Scholarship

• Jordon E. Grice, Hampton University – Media Scholarship

• Kalynne Wilson, Regent University  –  Media Scholarship

• Brittney Banks, Christopher Newport University — Media Scholarship

• Rolonda Taylor,  Virginia Wesleyan College — HRBMP Cheryl Ross and John Robinson Promise Scholarship

• Joel Caffey, Boston University  – Promise Scholarship

Copyright © 2018 Hampton Roads Black Media Professionals, Inc. All Rights Reserved